Seiko 2220 : A Pictorial Review Part 1

As part of my new found fascination with this sleeper of a vintage Seiko movement, I decide to take more photos of my 2220 beauties to share with readers. First up is my second 2220 watch, with a unique checkered board design. It also has a slightly different 2220 movement compared to the regular 2220s.

image

Seiko logo printed

I fell in love with this 2220 shortly after I gotten my hammered dial. The checkered dial ranks right up there with the hammered dial. It is simply a stunner with the level of detailing involved in the dial work. I’m pretty certain that the dial work contributes to the bulk of the price of this watch.

This watch also came with a serialised movement, which also looks slightly different from the usual 2220. I suspect that it is built to a higher quality and this is also confirmed when I brought it to my watch guy for an overhaul.

The movement on visual inspection looks dirty, but the amplitude was a surprising 300 degree on average in the dial up and down position. Beat error was 0.2ms or nearly zero. Astonishing for a dirty movement.

IMG_0018 IMG_0019 IMG_0020

Crown

Unsigned Crown

Case back with the usual markings. From my observations the 2220s came in Japan A,B and C cases. No idea what are the differences between them.

Case back with the usual markings. From my observations the 2220s came in Japan A,B and C cases. No idea what are the differences between them.

IMG_0023

Seiko logo printed

Seiko logo printed

6 o'clock markings 24 Jewels baby!

6 o’clock markings 24 Jewels baby!

Domed Crystal

Domed Crystal

Stick Hands, with the hour hand being marginally thicker

Stick Hands, with the hour hand being marginally thicker

Cut Lug

Cut Lug

The Money Shot! Notice the flower shaped diashock. The same pattern is repeated on the gold chatons capping the jewels.

The Money Shot! Notice the flower shaped diashock. The same pattern is repeated on the gold chatons capping the jewels.

So there, stay tuned for Part 2, where I’ll showcase my first 2220, the hammered dial variant.

Leave a Reply

